Virtual Machine Learning Summit
Virtual Machine Learning Summit
Written by Sue Gee   
Monday, 22 April 2013

Microsoft Research is holding its Machine Learning Summit at Microsoft's "Le Campus" in Paris. But if you are not attending in person. Keynotes and the interviews from the event will be streamed live, complete with online Q&A sessions.

 

mlsummit1

 

According to the Microsoft Research Connections Blog, this free online event will kick off with the opening keynote (recorded earlier in the day) from Andrew Blake, director of Microsoft Research Cambridge. Professor Blake will describe advances in computer vision, with machines that learn to see.

Later you can watch the live stream of Judea Pearl, director of the Cognitive Systems Laboratory at the University of California, Los Angeles. Professor Pearl will speak about the development and application of mathematical tools to study cause-and-effect relationships.

Following their keynotes, both Balke and Pearl will conduct half-hour online Q&A sessions, giving virtual participants the opportunity to engage directly with these eminent researchers. 

The virtual event rounds off with two 15-minutes live "Research in Focus" interviews. In the first, Fei-Fei Li of the Stanford Vision Lab and Sebastian Nowozin of Microsoft Research will discuss developments in teaching machines to see. In the other, Zoubin Ghahramani of the University of Cambridge will describe his work on building an “automated statistician.”


 

 

And if you have already missed the live virtual event the videos should still be available together with the keynote from Hermann Hauser with the title "Data is accumulating at such a rate that there are no longer enough qualified humans to analyze it".

As this is a Microsoft production, viewing the video requires Silverlight - when will Microsoft Research get the memo about not using Silverlight?

There's a trailer for the event that you can use to test whether you are equipped in advance of its start time of 13:30 GMT (which is equivalent to 09:30 ET; 06:30 PT; 14:30 BST and 15:30 CET in Paris itself).

More Information

Machine Learning Summit Goes Virtual (blog)

Watch the Machine Learning Summit

Related Articles

Judea Pearl Latest Winner of Turing Award

Microsoft Wins Award for Infer.NET Bayesian Modeler

 

To be informed about new articles on I Programmer, install the I Programmer Toolbar, subscribe to the RSS feed, follow us on, Twitter, Facebook, Google+ or Linkedin,  or sign up for our weekly newsletter.

 

 
 



Comments




or email your comment to: comments@i-programmer.info

 

Banner


Chromebook Tablets - The End of Android?
04/04/2018

By Betteridge's law of headlines the answer should be no, but it all depends on what you mean by Android. The first tablet running Chrome OS is now available from Acer, and it is almost certainly [ ... ]



Microsoft Chooses Linux for IoT
18/04/2018

Microsoft has chosen a Linux kernel for its latest move into IoT, despite the recent launch of Windows 10 IoT. Azure Sphere is the operating system that runs on micro controllers powering IoT devices. [ ... ]


More News

Last Updated ( Monday, 22 April 2013 )
 
 

   
RSS feed of news items only
I Programmer News
Copyright © 2018 i-programmer.info. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.