Bjarne Stroustrup Awarded IET Faraday Medal
Bjarne Stroustrup Awarded IET Faraday Medal
Written by Sue Gee   
Tuesday, 26 September 2017

Bjarne Stroustrup, the inventor of C++, is the 2017 winner of the Faraday Medal is the most prestigious award of the UK-based Institution of Engineering and Technology.


Named for Michael Faraday (1791 - 1867) whose work led directly to the modern electric motor, the Faraday Medal is awarded either for notable scientific or industrial achievement in engineering or for conspicuous service rendered to the advancement of science, engineering and technology or for lifetime achievement in science, engineering or technology.



Recipients are presented with a bronze medal and a vellum scroll and are invited to sign the Roll of Honor album which contains the photographs and signatures of all IET Honorary Fellows and Faraday Medallists since the inception of these awards in 1922. Previous winners include Donald Knuth (2011), Sir Maurice Wilkes (1981) and Robert Noyce (1979).

The citation states:

 Dr. Stroustrup pioneered the C++ programming language, one of the most influential programming languages in the history of computing. C++ revolutionized the software industry globally, through its versatile, efficient, and innovative abstraction techniques, including object-oriented programming and generic programming. It impacted millions of programmers and numerous industries globally, including software infrastructure, web services, telecommunications, microelectronics, scientific computing, finance, defense, aviation, image processing, music, movie making, gaming, and medical systems and allowed the development of truly remarkable technologies.


Danish-born Stroustrup is currently a Visiting Professor in Computer Science at Columbia University. His publications include The C++ Programming Language (4th Edition, 2013), A Tour of C++ (2013)and  Programming: Principles and Practice using C++ (2014), the latter two of which have been reviewed by the I Programmer team.

Previous recognition for his achievements include being awarded the Dahl-Nygaard Prize in 2015 and being made a fellow of the Computer History Museum, also in 2015. The Computer History Museum shared this video of a 1994 video in which Stroustrup discusses the Design of C++. 


Commenting on receiving the Faraday Medal, which will take place at an awards ceremony in November, Stroustrup said:

“I am honored and humbled to see my name among so many illustrious previous winners of the prize. This privilege is only possible through the superb work of the C++ community.”






More Information

Bjarne Stroustrup awarded 2017 Faraday Medal

IET Awards - Faraday Medal

Related Articles

Bjarne Stroustrup Awarded Dahl-Nygaard Prize 

Bjarne Stroustrup Thinks He Has A Better Way To Do Generics

Towards Objects and Functions - Computer Languages In The 1980s

A Recursive Interview With Bjarne Stoustrup   

Programming: Principles and Practice Using C++, 2e (book review) 

A Tour of C++ (book review)


To be informed about new articles on I Programmer, sign up for our weekly newsletter, subscribe to the RSS feed and follow us on, Twitter, FacebookGoogle+ or Linkedin.



Facebook Open Sources Detectron Object Detection

The way big companies are open sourcing significant AI is both gratifying and slightly worrying. AI is the biggest revolution since we discovered fire and started making tools. FaceBook AI Research ha [ ... ]

EyeShot 11 Adds Collision Detection

A new version of Eyeshot, a native CAD control for the .NET Framework, has been released. devDept's Eyeshot lets you add CAD features to WinForms and WPF applications simply by dragging an i [ ... ]

More News



blog comments powered by Disqus



Last Updated ( Tuesday, 26 September 2017 )

RSS feed of news items only
I Programmer News
Copyright © 2018 All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.