Scott Aaronson Winner of 2020 ACM Prize In Computing
Written by Sue Gee   
Wednesday, 14 April 2021

Scott Aaronson is the recipient of the 2020 ACM Prize in Computing for his "groundbreaking contributions to quantum computing." Aaronson, who is Professor of Computer Science at the University of Texas, Austin, has also made fundamental contributions to classical complexity theory.


The award, which was established in 2007 to recognize "early to mid-career fundamental innovative contributions in computing"  carries a prize of $250,000, with its financial support  provided by Infosys Ltd.

In today's announcement, Pravin Rao, COO of Infosys states:

“Infosys is proud to fund the ACM Prize in Computing and we congratulate Scott Aaronson on being this year’s recipient. When the effort to build quantum computation devices was first seriously explored in the 1990s, some labeled it as science fiction. While the realization of a fully functional quantum computer may still be in the future, this is certainly not science fiction. The successful quantum hardware experiments by Google and others have been a marvel to many who are following these developments. Scott Aaronson has been a leading figure in this area of research and his contributions will continue to focus and guide the field as it reaches its remarkable potential.” 


Scott Aaronson


Explaining that the goal of quantum computing is:

"to harness the laws of quantum physics to build devices that can solve problems that classical computers either cannot solve, or not solve in any reasonable amount of time"

the ACM notes that  Aaronson showed how results from computational complexity theory can provide new insights into the laws of quantum physics, and brought clarity to what quantum computers will, and will not, be able to do.

Aaronson helped develop the concept of quantum supremacy, something that would be achieved when a quantum device can solve a problem that no classical computer can solve in a reasonable amount of time and established many of the theoretical foundations of quantum supremacy experiments. He has  also explored how quantum supremacy experiments could deliver a key application of quantum computing, namely the generation of cryptographically random bits.

Among his notable contribution are the 2011 paper “The Computational Complexity of Linear Optics,” in which, with co-author Alex Arkhipov, he put forward evidence that rudimentary quantum computers built entirely out of linear-optical elements cannot be efficiently simulated by classical computers.

Earlier, in his 2002 paper “Quantum lower bound for the collision problem,” Aaronson proved the quantum lower bound for the collision problem, which had been for years a major open problem. This work bounds the minimum time for a quantum computer to find collisions in many-to-one functions, giving evidence that a basic building block of cryptography will remain secure for quantum computers.

Aaronson is known for his work on “algebrization”, a technique he invented with Avi Wigderson to understand the limits of algebraic techniques for separating and collapsing complexity classes. Beyond his technical contributions, Aaronson is also credited with making quantum computing understandable to a wide audience, through his popular blog, Shtetl Optimized, where he explains timely and exciting topics in quantum computing in a simple and effective way, TED Talks to dispel misconceptions and provide the public with a more accurate overview of the field and his book Quantum Computing Since Democritus, see side panel. 

In his latest blog post, Aaronson recounts how he was toled about winning the prize and writes:

I don’t know if I’m worthy of such a prize—but I know that if I am, then it’s mainly for work I did between roughly 2001 and 2012. This honor inspires me to want to be more like I was back then, when I was driven, non-jaded, and obsessed with figuring out the contours of BQP and efficient computation in the physical universe. It makes me want to justify the ACM’s faith in me. 

More Information

ACM Prize Awarded to Pioneer in Quantum Computing

Dr. Scott J Aaronson

The ACM Prize thing

Related Articles

Scott Aaronson On NP And Physics

David Silver Awarded 2019 ACM Prize In Computing

Authors of the Dragon Book Win 2020 Turing Award 

Computer Graphics Pioneers Win 2019 Turing Award

2021 Abel Prize Shared By Math and Computer Science

Knuth Prize 2019 Awarded For Contributions To Complexity Theory

To be informed about new articles on I Programmer, sign up for our weekly newsletter, subscribe to the RSS feed and follow us on Twitter, Facebook or Linkedin.



Java Version 22 Released

JDK 22 is not a Long Term Support release, but is one of the regular releases that are scheduled to arrive every six months. Still, it has got a lot to show for itself.

Eclipse JKube 1.16 Goes GA

Eclipse JKube makes deploying your Java application to a Kubernetes cluster a breeze. Let's find out what's new.

More News

raspberry pi books



or email your comment to:



Last Updated ( Thursday, 15 April 2021 )