ACM Celebrates 50 Years of Turing Award
Written by Sue Gee   
Monday, 13 February 2017

This year the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) is marking 50 years of its most prestigious prize, the A.M. Turing Award. The celebrations will culminate in a conference in June, to be held in San Francisco  and also streamed live online, exploring how computing has evolved and where the field is headed.


Announcing its plans to celebrate 50 years of the award that honors the memory and legacy of Alan Turing, the ACM writes:

Since its inauguration in 1966, the ACM A. M. Turing Award has recognized major contributions of lasting importance in computing. Through the years, it has become the most prestigious technical award in the field, often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of computing.

During the next several months, ACM will celebrate 50 years of the Turing Award and the visionaries who have received it. Our aim is to highlight the significant impact of the contributions of the Turing Laureates on computing and society, to look ahead to the future of technology and innovation, and to help inspire the next generation of computer scientists to invent and dream. 

In this video publicizing the June conference, ACM Vicki Hanson outlines the award and some distinguished laureates - Edward Feigenbaum, Silvio Micali, Robert Kahn, Barbara Liskov, Donald Knuth, Shafi Goldwasser, Vint Cerf and Raj Reddy - look at the impact computing has made over the period since it was established:


A recent addition to the ACM site, Spotlight on Turing Laureates has short biographies, not only of those included in the video but many others. At the moment it isn't, however, the full list - it doesn't include the earliest winners such as Alan Perlis, Maurice Wilkes and Marvin Minsky and also omits the most recent two, Whitfield Diffie and Martin Hellman, winners of  the 2015 award. Nor is it exclusively living laureates since it lists some distinguished deceased recipients including John McCarthy and Dennis Ritchie, but leaves out others who are still alive such as Charles Bachman and Niklaus Wirth.

The ACM conference to celebrate 50 years of the Turing Award will feature many of its recipients together with other leading researchers in computer science takes place on June 23 - 24 to coincide with the ACM's annual award ceremony.


More Information

ACM Turing Award 50 Celebration

Related Articles

Diffie and Hellman Receive Turing Award 

Turing Award Now Million Dollar Prize

Leslie Lamport Wins Turing Award 

Goldwasser and Micali win Turing Award

Judea Pearl Latest Winner of Turing Award

Harvard Computer Scientist Leslie Valiant Wins Turing Award 


To be informed about new articles on I Programmer, sign up for our weekly newsletter, subscribe to the RSS feed and follow us on Twitter, Facebook or Linkedin.



Love Learning With Udacity

To celebrate Valentine's Day, Udacity has a one-week promotion for new subscribers with 40% of the first month's payment. This seems like a good incentive for trying it out. Here we look at four cours [ ... ]

Apache Arrow 15 Stabilizes Flight SQL

Apache Arrow 15 has been released. Improvements include new format strings in the C data interface, and Flight SQL now being stable in Arrow Flight.

More News


raspberry pi books



or email your comment to:

Last Updated ( Monday, 13 February 2017 )