SQL Server 2008 Certification
Tuesday, 09 November 2010
Article Index
SQL Server 2008 Certification
Job aligned exams
Upgrade and continuing development


Upgrade paths

One perceived problem with Microsoft certifications is their limited shelf life. Every time there are new products there are new exams to pass. However you don't have to start at the bottom of the ladder each time. To cater for those people who have already gained their MCITP certification in one of the roles based on SQL Server 2005 there are  three upgrade exams that enable you to "transition" your existing skills. This means that if you are part way through gaining certification in SQL Server 2005, which are still current, it is worth completing even though the new exams are now available. The road map below shows the additional exams you'll need to take once you have gained your MCITP on SQL Server 2005. Notice that with one extra exam you get two new certifications - both an MCTS and an updated MCITP.






For information about them follow these links:

Database Administrator

Exam 70-453: Transition Your MCITP SQL Server 2005 DBA to MCITP SQL Server 2008

Database Developer

Exam 70-454: Transition Your MCITP SQL Server 2005 DBD to MCITP SQL Server 2008 DBD

Business Intelligence Developer

Exam 70-455: Transition Your MCITP SQL Server 2005 BI Developer  to MCITP SQL Server 2008 BI

Aiming higher - MCM and MCA

If you want to climb to the very top of the certification ladder there are two further rungs in the case of SQL Server 2008, the next being Microsoft Certified Master.




As shown here, in order to proceed to these upper echelons you have to hold both the Database Developer 2008 and Database Administrator 2008 MCITP certifications and there is no such onward step for those who have followed the Business Intelligence path.



Last Updated ( Tuesday, 09 November 2010 )